Yikes!

Seeing as I am now blogging professionally I thought the polite thing to do was to crack open my own blog.

Politeness begins at home and so does blogging… usually.

I am a lover of the arts; in particular books and movies.

Among my favourites are  A Prayer for Owen Meany and It’s a Wonderful Life.

Some months I plow through a few novels and then there are the fallow months where I tend to balance it out by watching tank loads of movies.

Last week was a movie week.

Battle Los Angeles, Limitless, Super 8, Rise of the Planet of the Apes and The Fog (remake).

Battle Los Angeles was a cheesy Gung Ho litany of war torn Los Angeles under fire from aliens, tense and some very exciting skirmish scenes in a city blown apart by an off world invasion. The actors seemed like terrified well trained marines but in the end it seemed like all the money was poured into the special effects while plot, dialogue and character development were killed off in the first act.

Limitless I did enjoy, a man strangled by writers block  is offered an insight into his own brain and takes it with addictive consequences, the first two thirds were compelling but the ending was a little weak, enjoyable all the same.

Super 8 is J.J. Abram’s (creator of Lost) homage to Producer Steven Speilberg, it has many hallmarks of ET, Close Encounters of a Third Kind and even The Goonies. It’s the old story boy and his friends are making a zombie movie, boy meet girl and alien with a train crash to rival The Fugitive. He tugs at the heart strings but not as much as Speilberg would have.  Still catch it on the big screen if you can.

Rise of the Planet of the Apes is the best movie I have seen in a while and you’ll know this if you have read any of my facebook posts or tweets of late. A crisp updating of the 1970’s classic series, more moving than Super 8, more exciting than Battle Los Angeles and it has one plotline quite similar to Limitless that is used to better effect, if I go on anymore I’ll just spoil it for you.

The Fog, well  all I can say is I wish I mist it…. see what i did there?

So first blog over and out.

Whatcha think?

14 responses to “Yikes!

  1. Excellent !!

  2. Stop watching films and get back to work 🙂

  3. I didn’t realize battle los angeles as set in san francisco!

  4. and your review was far too kind.

  5. Where was my head, thanks David!

  6. The blog…… well, all I can say is I’m delighted you’ve done it…….see what I did there. lol

  7. Thanks for that, I enjoyed it, I will endeavour to read Limitless, upon your recommendation, Good Luck with the blog xxxx

  8. Loving your work man – now and always! keep it rollin and keep it real.

  9. Love your style. More! More!

  10. Nice one Mr Moore .. looking forward to the next blog already !!!

  11. Loved it…its fun! Now I’ll read the other 2 🙂

Leave a Reply

